Instagram Button Facebook Page Button Twitter Button

The Los Angeles Neighborhood Land Trust's ("Land Trust") mission is to grow healthier, safer, and stronger communities by creating urban parks and community gardens that remedy the critical lack of green and recreational spaces in greater Los Angeles' underserved neighborhoods. Through leadership development and programming, we engage low-income residents throughout the process of envisioning, building, and managing the projects we create, empowering them to transform their communities and quality of life through direct action and civic engagement.


History & Future


The Neighborhood Land Trust is the leading nonprofit working to create urban parks and gardens in the Los Angeles region. The organization was formed in 2002 as a 501c(3) with initial funding from the City of Los Angeles in response to a 2000 report by The Urban Land Trust Task Force, which documented the shortage of green and recreational spaces in the city’s underserved neighborhoods. Since then, the Neighborhood Land Trust has played an important role in the creation, renovation and opening of nine parks and gardens, seven of which are managed and programmed by the Neighborhood Land Trust and local community management committees.

We plan to launch up to two new projects each year so that we may realize our vision for every L.A. area resident to live within walking distance of a park or garden. Using a community-based process and strategic partnerships, we’re steadily and ambitiously working to address the unfair disparity of access to open space and its negative impact on the region’s low-income communities.



Staff

Alina Bokde, Executive Director

Alina’s career and public service demonstrate her commitment to increasing parks and gardens as a strategy to revitalize underserved neighborhoods and improve the quality of life in low-income communities.

Prior to joining the Neighborhood Land Trust, Alina served as deputy executive officer for the River and Mountains Conservancy and managed complex conservation-focused real estate transactions for The Trust for Public Land. She is a former board member of Communities for a Better Environment, a past president of the Los Angeles Environmental Affairs Commission and a member of several community and civic organizations.

Alina holds a master’s degree in community and regional planning from the University of New Mexico and a bachelor’s degree in biology from Macalester College.

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 202 Email: abokde@lanlt.org

Advancement

Aysha Siddique, Director of Development

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 203 Email: asiddique@lanlt.org

Maddie Miller, Development Associate

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 212 Email: mmiller@lanlt.org

Christian Miyamae, Communications Intern

Email: communications@lanlt.org



Finance

Dira Creek, Controller

Phone: 213-337-5320 Email: dcreek@lanlt.org

Operations, Park Programming, and Park Maintenance

Beverley Keefe, Director of Operations

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 205 Email: bkeefe@lanlt.org

Maranda Henderson, Office Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 211 Email: mhenderson@lanlt.org

Brenda Yoncor, Stewardship Coordinator

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 222

Organizing

Keshia Sexton, Director of Organizing

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 206 Email: ksexton@lanlt.org

Cameron Schuster, Little Green Fingers Organizer

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 217 Email: cschuster@lanlt.org

Hugo Garcia, Lead Organizer

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 223 Email: hgarcia@lanlt.org

Jose Gutierrez, Community Organizer

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 209 Email: jgutierrez@lanlt.org

Dayana Molina, Community Organizer

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 204 Email: dmolina@lanlt.org

Jennifer Ramirez, Community Organizer

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 210 Email: jramirez@lanlt.org

Park Development, Youth Programs, and Policy

Mark Glassock, Director of Special Projects

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 221 Email: mglassock@lanlt.org

Megan Laird, Gardens and Youth Program Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 208 Email: mlaird@lanlt.org

Elsa Tung, Policy and Research Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 219 Email: etung@lanlt.org

Melissa Guerrero, Project Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 201 Email: mguerrero@lanlt.org

Hope Escario, Project Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 215 Email: hescario@lanlt.org


Board of Directors

OFFICERS

Carl Cade
Chair

Belinda Vega
Vice Chair

Matthew Steinberg
Secretary

Charles Rose
Treasurer

MEMBERS

Manal Aboelata
Daniel Abrams
Ben Howell
Damon Nagami
Kevin Napoli
Robert Reid
Edward Sykes
Jill Black Zalben


Funders

Aetna
Annenberg Foundation
Banamex/Citi
California Community Foundation
California Wellness Foundation
The California Endowment
California State Parks
City of Los Angeles
Community Health Councils
Dwight Stuart Youth Fund
The Eisner Foundation
Erika J. Glazer
Ernest Lieblich Foundation
First 5 LA
Kaiser Permanente
Los Angeles County
Los Angeles Department of Water and Power
Macy's
Mountains Recreation and Conservation Authority
Ralph M. Parsons Foundation
Red Blue Green Fund
Resources Legacy Fund
The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation
Roth Family Foundation
Sherwood Family Foundation
Stanley and Joyce Black Family Foundation
Strategic Growth Council
Walt Disney Company
The Walter J. & Holly O. Thomson Foundation
Weingart Foundation
Wells Fargo UrbanLIFT
W.M. Keck Foundation
Women Helping Youth
Wells Fargo UrbanLIFT


Advisory Board

Lindsey Angelats
Michael Condon, Jr.
Danielle Cornwell
Glen Dake
Cecilia Estolano
Belinda Faustinos
Regina Freer
Gilda Haas
Clive Hoffman
Michael Kaufman
Elizabeth Leanse Waybill
Anastasia Loukaitou-Sideris
John Mack
Gerard McCallum
Jerilyn Mendoza
Carl Muhlstein
Thomas Safran
Bruce Saito
Marta Segura
Erin Tanenbaum
Amy Wakeland
Mark Walther
Elizabeth Whitted Dawson