Instagram Button Facebook Page Button Twitter Button

Our mission is to grow healthier, safer, and stronger communities by creating urban parks and community gardens that remedy the critical lack of green and recreational spaces in greater Los Angeles' underserved neighborhoods.


History & Future


The Los Angeles Neighborhood Land Trust was founded in 2002 to address LAs park inequities. We focus our efforts exclusively in communities of color that have little to no access to green space.

Less than one acre of green space is available for every 1,000 residents in the communities we serve. In stark contrast, the citywide average is over four acres and the countywide average is over three acres. For 15 years we have aimed to change this dynamic and have added nearly eight acres of accessible green space to LA by helping create 25 parks and gardens. These neighborhood assets serve 195,000 Angelenos annually. By 2019, we will complete five additional parks and gardens, adding nearly 15 additional acres of green space to LA County.

Our successful greenspace development model engages residents from the beginning of our design process, through construction and ultimately the stewardship of the parks and gardens we create. To ensure the long-term impact of our efforts, we are working towards equitable greenspace development in LA through grassroots policy reform.



Staff

Tamika L. Butler, Executive Director

 

Advancement

Aysha Siddique, Director of Development

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 203 Email: asiddique@lanlt.org

Maddie Miller, Development Associate

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 212 Email: mmiller@lanlt.org

Finance

Dira Creek, Controller

Phone: 213-337-5320 Email: dcreek@lanlt.org

Juan Carrillo, Accounting Associate



Operations, Park Programming, and Park Maintenance

Shari Morales, Office Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 211 Email: officemanager@lanlt.org

Brenda Yancor, Stewardship Coordinator

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 222

Organizing

Keshia Sexton, Director of Organizing

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 206 Email: ksexton@lanlt.org

Hugo Garcia, Lead Organizer

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 223 Email: hgarcia@lanlt.org

Jose Gutierrez, Community Organizer

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 209 Email: jgutierrez@lanlt.org

Dayana Molina, Community Organizer

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 204 Email: dmolina@lanlt.org

Jennifer Ramirez, Community Organizer

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 210 Email: jramirez@lanlt.org

Park Development, Youth Programs, and Policy

Mark Glassock, Director of Special Projects

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 221 Email: mglassock@lanlt.org

Megan Laird, Gardens and Youth Program Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 208 Email: mlaird@lanlt.org

Elsa Tung, Policy and Research Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 219 Email: etung@lanlt.org

Melissa Guerrero, Project Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 201 Email: mguerrero@lanlt.org

Hope Escario, Project Manager

Phone: 213-572-0188 Ext 215 Email: hescario@lanlt.org


Board of Directors

OFFICERS

Carl Cade
Board Chair

Belinda Vega
Vice Chair

Matthew Steinberg
Secretary

Charles Rose
Treasurer

MEMBERS

Daniel Abrams
Ben Howell
Damon Nagami
Kevin Napoli
Edward Sykes
Jill Black Zalben

Advisory Board

Lindsey Angelats
Michael Condon, Jr.
Danielle Cornwell
Glen Dake
Cecilia Estolano
Belinda Faustinos
Regina Freer
Gilda Haas
Clive Hoffman
Michael Kaufman
Elizabeth Leanse Waybill
Anastasia Loukaitou-Sideris
John Mack
Gerard McCallum
Jerilyn Mendoza
Carl Muhlstein
Thomas Safran
Bruce Saito
Marta Segura
Erin Tanenbaum
Amy Wakeland
Mark Walther
Elizabeth Whitted Dawson